What is the DOD 8570?

In recent years, the United States Department of Defense has determined that the security of information assets is mission critical. A cornerstone effort in the security our digital assets from the constant probes and attacks from our nation’s cyber adversaries is the information security knowledge and skills of our Information Assurance human resources.

DoD Directive 8570.1 provides the basis for an enterprise-wide solution to train, certify, and manage the DoD Information Assurance (IA) workforce, which numbers around some 70,000 US DoD Active Duty, Civilian Employee and Defense Contractors. The 8570.1 certification policy requires Information Assurance Technicians (IATs) and Managers (IAMs) to be trained and certified to a DoD baseline requirement. The Directive’s accompanying manual identifies the specific certifications mandated by the Directive’s enterprise-wide certification program.

Much of the Directive addresses workforce management issues. Components must identify and document IA personnel and positions in personnel and manpower databases and ensure that IA personnel meet training and certification requirements as applicable to their job functions.

The ultimate vision of the Directive is a sustained, professional IA workforce with the knowledge and skills to effectively prevent and respond to attacks against DoD information, information systems, and information infrastructures. This effort will enable DoD to put the right people with the right skills in the right place.

If you would like a more detailed, official description of the 8570 mandate, please visit our friends at the Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC).

How do you get in compliance? Visit the list below.

Who should be certified? Information Assurance Technical (IAT) and Information Assurance Management (IAM) personnel must be fully trained and certified to baseline requirements to perform their IA duties. The 8570 policy defines IAT workforce members as anyone with privileged information system access performing IA functions. IAM personnel perform management functions for DoD operational systems described in the manual.

In the list below you’ll find the DoD-approved baseline certifications. Please click on any of the links below for more detailed information.

IAM Level 1

IAM Level 2

IAM Level 3

IASAE Level 1

IASAE Level 2

CSSP Analyst

CSSP Infrastructure Support

CSSP Incident Responder

CSSP Auditor

CSSP Manager

IAT Computing Environment (CE) Certifications