EC-Council CEH

CEH v4 Domain #8: Cloud Computing

Greg Belding
January 6, 2022 by
Greg Belding

Organizations that want to maximize the chances of not being another statistic of malicious hacking can hire a certified ethical hacker. These ethical hackers test an organization's systems, networks and overall information security. The Certified Ethical Hacker, or CEH, certification is a well-renowned certification that verifies the knowledge and skills of ethical hackers.

The CEH certification is currently on Exam Blueprint v4.0, which has brought some changes to how the Domains of knowledge are presented. 

Earn your CEH, guaranteed!

Earn your CEH, guaranteed!

Get hands-on hacking experience and live expert, instruction. Enroll now to claim your Exam Pass Guarantee!

What is the CEH certification?

The CEH certification verifies that the holder has a practical understanding of the phases of ethical hacking, the various attack vectors and the preventative countermeasures used by ethical hackers. It certifies that the holder knows how to think and act like a malicious hacker to better position your organization's information security measures and defend against real-world attacks. It is premised on the idea that if you understand vulnerabilities and system weaknesses your organization faces, you can better strengthen system security controls in the face of malicious activity and attacks.

Who is the target audience for CEH?

From a high-level view, any information security professional wants their organization to be better positioned in the face of attacks and malicious activity. Below is a list of roles that typically earn this certification:

  • Information Security Analyst
  • Information Assurance Security Officer
  • Information Security Manager/Specialist
  • Information Systems Security Engineer/Manager
  • Information Security Professionals/Officers
  • Risk/Threat/Vulnerability Analyst
  • Information Security/IT Auditors

What has changed since CEH Exam Blueprint v3?

They say that the only thing constant in life is change, which applies to the new CEH Exam Blueprint. Normally, I offer a side-by-side comparison of the old and new exam versions, but in the case of CEH, so much has changed we will keep it brief. CEH Exam Blueprint v3.0 only had six domains, and the material v.4.0 #8 covers was briefly covered within different domains but did not have its dedicated Domain of Knowledge.

In CEH Exam Blueprint v4.0, Domain #8 is aptly titled "Cloud Computing," covering 6% of CEH exam content and representing seven CEH certification exam questions. There is only one subdomain in this Domain, also called Cloud Computing.

Let's explore what this Domain will cover below.

Cloud Computing

1. Cloud Computing Concepts

  • Cloud Computing Technology
    • On-Demand Self-Service
    • Distributed Storage
    • Rapid Elasticity
    • Measured Services
    • Automated Management
    • Virtualization
  • Types of Cloud Computing Services
    • Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS)
    • Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS)
    • Software-as-a-Service (SaaS)
  • Cloud Deployment Models
    • Public cloud
    • Private cloud
    • Hybrid cloud
    • Community
  • Cloud Computing Benefits
    • Increased Capacity
    • Increased Speed
    • Low Latency
    • Less Economic Expense
    • Security
  • Understanding Virtualization
    • Virtualization – the process of deploying a machine or multiple machines virtually on a host.
    • Use the host machine's system resources by applying a logical division
    • Physical deployment requires separate dedicated hardware for a single Operating System
    • Virtual Machine hosts can support multiple Oss over a single system, sharing resources (such as storage)

2. Container Technology

Containers are a conceptual packing method that allows the application to be isolated from their real running environment

  • This decoupling allows container-based applications to be deployed consistently and easily
  • Containers are like virtual machines in that they yet you package application with libraries and other dependencies, which create separate environments

3. Serverless Computing

4. Cloud Computing Threats

  • Data Loss / Breach
  • Abusing Cloud Services
  • Insecure Interface and APIs

5. Cloud Hacking

  • Service Hijacking with Social Engineering Attacks
  • Session Hijacking with XSS Attacks
  • Domain Name System (DNS) Attacks
  • SQL Injection Attacks
  • Wrapping Attacks
  • Service Hijacking with Network Sniffing
  • Session Hijacking with Session Riding
  • Side Channel Attack or Cross-Guest VM Breaches
  • Cryptanalysis
  • DoS/DDoS Attacks

6. Cloud Security

  • Cloud Security Control Layers
    • Application Layer
    • Information
    • Management
    • Network Layer
    • Trusted Computing
    • Computer and Storage
    • Physical Security
  • Responsibilities in Cloud Security
    • Cloud Service Provider
      • Web Application Firewall (WAF)
      • Real Traffic Grabber (RTG)
      • Firewall
      • Data Loss Prevention (DLP)
      • Intrusion Prevention Systems
      • Secure Web Gateway (SWG)
      • Application Security (APP Sec)
      • Virtual Private Network (VPN)
      • Load Balancer
      • CoS/QoS
      • Trusted Platform Module
      • Netflow and others
    • Cloud Service Customer
      • Public Key Infrastructure (PKI)
      • Security Development Life Cycle (SDLC)
      • Web Application Firewall (WAF)
      • Firewall
      • Encryption
      • Intrusion Prevention Systems
      • Secure Web Gateway
      • Application Security
      • Virtual Private Network (VPN) and others
    • Resiliency and Automation Strategies
      • Automation/Scripting
      • Templates\
      • Master Image
      • Non-Persistence
      • Elasticity
      • Scalability
      • Distributive Allocation
      • Redundancy
      • Fault Tolerance
      • High Availability
      • RAID
  • Cloud Security Tools
    • Core CloudInspect
    • CloudPassage Halo

Earn your CEH, guaranteed!

Earn your CEH, guaranteed!

Get hands-on hacking experience and live expert, instruction. Enroll now to claim your Exam Pass Guarantee!

CEH Domain 8

Certified Ethical Hacker, or CEH, is a certification intended for information security professionals who want to bring ethical hacking benefits to their organization. You have to pass the CEH certification exam to earn this certification, which is now operating under the v4.0 Exam Blueprint and has significantly changed the material covered in CEH Domain #8, Cloud Computing. With the roadmap provided above, you will have a better grasp of this Domain of Knowledge and will be one step closer to mastering the information covered by the CEH exam.


Greg Belding
Greg Belding

Greg is a Veteran IT Professional working in the Healthcare field. He enjoys Information Security, creating Information Defensive Strategy, and writing – both as a Cybersecurity Blogger as well as for fun.