8570 Mandate Compliance Training

DoD Directive 8570.1 provides the basis for an enterprise-wide solution to train, certify, and manage the DoD Information Assurance (IA) workforce.

or call us on (866)-471-0059

8570 Training DoD 8570.1 M Compliance Training

What is the DoD Directive 8570.1?

In recent years, the United States Department of Defense has determined that the security of information assets is mission critical. A cornerstone effort in the security our digital assets from the constant probes and attacks from our nation’s cyber adversaries is the information security knowledge and skills of our Information Assurance human resources.

DoD Directive 8570.1 provides the basis for an enterprise-wide solution to train, certify, and manage the DoD Information Assurance (IA) workforce, which numbers around some 70,000 US DoD Active Duty, Civilian Employee and Defense Contractors. The 8570.1 certification policy requires Information Assurance Technicians (IATs) and Managers (IAMs) to be trained and certified to a DoD baseline requirement. The Directive’s accompanying manual identifies the specific certifications mandated by the Directive’s enterprise-wide certification program.

Much of the Directive addresses workforce management issues. Components must identify and document IA personnel and positions in personnel and manpower databases and ensure that IA personnel meet training and certification requirements as applicable to their job functions.

The ultimate vision of the Directive is a sustained, professional IA workforce with the knowledge and skills to effectively prevent and respond to attacks against DoD information, information systems, and information infrastructures. This effort will enable DoD to put the right people with the right skills in the right place.

If you would like a more detailed, official description of the 8570 mandate, please visit our friends at the Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC).

How do you get in compliance? Visit the list below.

Who should be certified? Information Assurance Technical (IAT) and Information Assurance Management (IAM) personnel must be fully trained and certified to baseline requirements to perform their IA duties. The 8570 policy defines IAT workforce members as anyone with privileged information system access performing IA functions. IAM personnel perform management functions for DoD operational systems described in the manual.

In the list below you'll find the DoD-approved baseline certifications. Please click on any of the links below for more detailed information.

IAT Level 1

IAT Level 2

IAT Level 3

IAM Level 1

IAM Level 2

IAM Level 3

Attention DoD Information Assurance Workers

The InfoSec Institute Onsite 8570 program is a tremendous community resource for 8750.1 compliance. InfoSec Institute has compliance programs for all three IAT and IAM levels.

Save your organization valuable training dollars by organizing a group on-site course. If you have 6 or more students, we can bring the appropriate IAT or IAM course to your office to train AND certify your team in 5 days. Act now to get you and your team compliant!

The training, certification, and workforce management requirements of 8570.01-M apply to all members of the DoD IA workforce including military, civilians, local nationals, non-appropriated fund (NAF) personnel, and contractors. The requirements apply whether the duties are performed full-time, part-time, or as an embedded duty.

View instant course pricing
Ready to get started? Get instant pricing for this award-winning boot camp. View course pricing

CISM Exam Pass Guarantee!

With an average annual salary of $122,000, the CISM ranks as the second highest-paying IT certification available. Now through January 31, all CISM Boot Camps come with our Exam Pass Guarantee. This means even if you fail your first attempt at the CISM exam, you can take the exam a second time for FREE — a $595 savings!