What is the DOD 8140?

This certification is required for all government employees who conduct information security functions as a part of their assigned duty. It replaces DoDD 8570, which now makes up a part of the larger initiative, DoDD 8140. Each employee in these positions is required to carry an approved certification for their specific job classification.

Who is the DOD 8140 for?

All full or part-time military service member, contractor, or others with approved clearance to a Department of Defense information system who performs information security and assurance functions. All personnel performing IAT and IAM functions, all personnel performing CND-SP and IASAE roles, and all IA jobs (categorized as “Technical” or “Management” level I, II, or III) must be certified.

IAM Level 1

IAM Level 2

IAM Level 3

IASAE Level 1

IASAE Level 2

CSSP Analyst

CSSP Infrastructure Support

CSSP Incident Responder

CSSP Auditor

CSSP Manager

IAT Computing Environment (CE) Certifications